Bhagavad Geetha

ಧರ್ಮಕ್ಷೇತ್ರೆ ಕುರುಕ್ಷೇತ್ರೇ ಸಮವೇತಾ ಯುಯುತ್ಸವ: |
ಮಾಮಕಾ: ಪಾಂಡವಾಶ್ಚೈವ ಕಿಮಕುರ್ವತು ಸಂಜಯ |

धर्मक्षेत्रॆ कुरुक्षेत्रे समवेता युयुत्सव: ।
मामका: पांडवाश्चैव किमकुर्वतु संजय ।

dharmakshEtre kuruksEhtre samavEta yuyutsava: |

maamakA: pandavAschaiva kimakurvatu sanjaya |

– Dhrutarashtra asked Sanjaya – After having assembled at the holy Kurukshetra, what are my sons and pandu’s sons are doing?

Arjuna was confused whether to fight or not against his Pithamaha Bheeshmacharyaru, Gurugalu Dronacharyaru, Brothers Duryodanaadigalu, and other elder Kauravas in Kurukshetra.  He decided not to fight and asked suggestion of Geethacharya – Srikrishna.

Then Srikrishna gave him Vishnuroopa Darshana and gave a good lecture  – Srimadbhagavad Geetha.

Every moment a confused Arjuna opens the Gita to take the advice of Krishna . And through the immortal Bhagavad Gita, Lord Krishna has been discussing and debating and finding solutions to the various problems faced by the confused Arjunas for centuries and will continue to do the same forever..

The day is observed all around the world with the reading of Bhagavad Gita, which is referred outside India as the Bible of the Hindus. Discussions and seminars are organized on the day.  Srimadacharyaru has given a very good tatparya nirnaya on Bhagavad Geetha.  One must read atleast one stanza of Bhagavad Geetha on this great day with the Tatparnirnaya of Srimadacharya.

Who gave the Bhagavad Geetha?

–   Srikrishna Paramathma

To whom did he gave the upadesha?

–  Arjuna

Where was the Bhagavad Geetha upadesha given ?

– At the Kuruksheta battle field.

When was this upadesha given ?

–  3137 B.C

What can we learn by the study of Srimad Bhagavad-Gita?

Accurate, fundamental knowledge about God, the ultimate truth, creation, birth and death, the results of actions, the eternal soul, liberation and the purpose as well as the goal of human existence.

How many chapters does Bhagavad Geetha has?

–  18 chapters. The different Chapters of Bhagavad Geetha are as follows :

  1. Vishadha Yoga
  2. Saankhya Yoga
  3. Karma Yoga
  4. Jnana Yoga
  5. Karma Vairagya Yoga
  6. Dhyana Yoga
  7. Jnaana Vijnana Yoga
  8. Aksara brahma Yoga
  9. Raja-Vidya-Guhya Yoga
  10. Vibhuti-Vistara-Yoga
  11. Visvarupa-DarshanaYoga
  12. Bhakti Yoga
  13. Kshetra-Kshetrajna Vibhaga Yoga
  14. Gunatraya-Vibhaga Yoga
  15. Purusottama Yoga
  16. Daivasura-Sampad-Vibhaga Yoga
  17. Shraddhatraya-Vibhaga Yoga
  18. Moksha-Sanyasa Yoga

Madhwa Shastra granthas on Bhagavad Geetha –

  1. Geethabhashyam-Srimadacharyaru
  2. Geethatatparya Nirnaya – Srimadacharyaru
  3. Geethabhashya Teeka (Bhaava Pradeepika) – Padmanabha Tirtharu
  4. Geethatatparya Nirnaya Teeka (Prakashika) – Padmanabha Tirtharu
  5. Geethabhashya Vyakyana – Narahari Tirtharu
  6. Geetha Teeka (Nyaya Deepika) – Teekarayaru
  7. Prameya Deepika (Geetha Bhashya Teeka) – Teekarayaru
  8. Geethabhashya Tippani (Bhavabodha) – Raghottamaru
  9. Geethartha Sangraha (Geetha Vivruthi) – Raghavendra Tirtharu
  10. Geetha Bhashya Prameya Deepika Tippani – Raghavendra Tirtharu
  11. Geetha Tatparya Teeka Vivarana (Geetha Tatparya Nyaya deepika vivarana) – Raghavendraru
  12. Geetha Vivruthi –  Vidyadhirajaru
  13. Geethabhashya Tippani (bhavaratna Kosha) – Sumateendra Tirtharu
  14. Geethaksharartha – Sumateendra Tirtharu
  15. Geetha Teeka Tippani (Kiranavali) – Tamraparni Srinivasacharya
  16. Geethabhashya Teeka (Gururajeeya) – Paandurangi Keshavacharya
  17. Geethabhashya Tippani – Umarji Krishnacharya
  18. Geethabhashya Tippani (Bhavaprakashika) – Bidarahalli Srinivasa Tirtharu
  19. Geetha Panchanana – Varakhedi Timmannacharya
  20. Geetha bhashya Vivrutti – Satari Raghavendracharya
  21. Geetha Vivruthi Vyakyana – Paangari Acharyaru
  22. Geetha Vyakyana – Ratnagarbha odeyaru
  23. Geetha Vyakyana – Narahari Acharya Ayi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Sumadhwa Seva © 2022