BIDARAHALLI SRINIVASA THIRTHARU

PERIOD - 1590 - 1640

GURUGALU - YADAVAARYARU

PLACE - HONNALI

Aradhana - Bhadrapada bahula dwiteeya

ಶ್ರೀನಿವಾಸತೀರ್ಥರು – ಶ್ರೀನಿವಾಸಗುರೂನ್ ವಂದೇ ಶ್ರೀನಿವಾಸಾಂಘ್ರಿ ಸದ್ರತೀನ್ । ಶ್ರೀಮಧ್ವಶಾಸ್ತ್ರದುಗ್ದಾಬ್ಧಿಪಾರಗಂತೄನ್ ಅಹಂ ಭಜೇ ॥

Sri Bidarahalli Srinivasacharyaru Once went Raghavendra Swamigalu, during Chaturmasya. asked Bidarahalli pooja, Rayaru samstana Srinivasacharyaru to sit for Theerthaprasada, but he hesitated to take the items as Rayaru takes Mustard (sasive) as a gesture to the offering of Kanakadasaru. As Bidarahalli Srinivasa thirtharu is from Uttaradimutt, he thought that he will have Vrathabhanga if he takes Then Rayaru told his disciples to serve him only items which does not contain Mustard.

After the Theerthaprasada, Rayaru gave him mantrakshate and returned to his place Bidarahalli.

When he went home, he observed that the mantrakshate given by Rayaru has turned to be black colour in his hands, whereas the mantrakshate given by rayaru for Yadavaryaru is still red colour only.

Yadavaryaru told him that he has done wrong by not accepting mustard at the rayara mutt. Next day itself, Srinivasacharyaru went back to Rayaru and apologized for the same, and had the Theerthaprasada with mustard and received the mantrakshate from Rayaru.

Srinivasacharyarun was a nephew of Yadavaaryaru.

Bidarahalli Srinivasachar got the title "Thirtha": Sri Bidarahalli Srinivasa Thirtharu was a gruhasta and not a sanyasi.

Once Rayaru, on his way went to Bidarahalli and met Srinivasacharyaru in his house and stayed there for a few days accepting his bhikshe. There, Rayaru had the opportunity of reading the works of Bidarahalli Srinivasacharyaru and was with full of admiration for Srinivasacharya, who even though was a gruhasta, had dedicated himself to the spread of knowledge. Rayaru blessed him with the title

THIRTHA and renamed him as Bidarahalli Srinivasa Thirtha instead of Bidarahalli Srinivasachar. Thus he got the "thirtha" title even though he was not a sanyasi.

His works:-

Commentary on

- 1. Srimanyaayasudha
- 2. Tatvaprakashika
- 3. Dashaprakaranateeka
- 4. Pramanapaddati
- 5. Bhagavatha
- 6. Rugbhashya

Collection by Narahari Sumadhwa